CORN FREE DIET

Avoid foods that contain any of these ingredients:
Corn
Corn starch
Corn oil
Corn meal
Corn sweeteners
Maize
Popcorn

The following ingredients MAY contain corn:
Hydrolyzed plant protein
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
Modified food starch

Noteworthy
ALWAYS read labels. ALWAYS ask about ingredients in restaurants, bakeries, etc. ALWAYS call the company if you have a question (they will be most accommodating if you tell them you have a corn allergy).
WHEN IN DOUBT: DO NOT EAT IT!
• Corn syrup is USUALLY well tolerated, but may contain minute amounts of corn protein.

Other hints on what to avoid:
• Avoid obvious sources of dietary corn (fresh, frozen, or canned corn, corn chips, popcorn, hominy, and grits).
• Commercial baking powders may contain corn starch and may need to be avoided.
• Breads, cookies, breakfast cereals, and desserts may contain corn flour, cornmeal, corn syrup, or cornstarch. Labels should be checked carefully, and only corn-free products used.
• Gravies, sauces, and soups may be thickened with cornstarch.
• Traditional Mexican cooking uses corn as a major ingredient and may need to be avoided. Tamales and corn tortillas are examples. Masa harina is a corn flour product.
• Heavy syrup (used with canned fruits) is usually corn syrup.
• Luncheon meats and franks may contain corn syrup or dextrose.
• Many processed foods contain some type of corn product. Cooking at home with known ingredients may be important. Certain alcoholic beverages (beer, bourbon, vodka, and gin) may contain corn and need to be avoided.

Skip to content