Peanut is not a nut, it is a legume. Legumes are edible seeds enclosed in pods, including soybeans, lima beans, carob and sweet clover. Most peanut-allergic people can eat other legumes.

Ingredients to avoid:
• Cold pressed peanut oil
• Ground nuts
• Mixed nuts
• Peanuts
• Peanut butter
• Peanut flour

Foods that MAY contain peanuts or peanut products:
• African, Chinese, and Thai dishes
• Baked goods (pastries, cookies, etc), baking mixes
• Battered foods
• Breakfast cereals, and cereal based products
• Candy
• Chili & Spaghetti Sauce (which could contain peanut butter used as a thickening agent)
• Chocolate candies
• Hydrolyzed plant protein
• Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
• Marzipan (usually almond but often can be a mixture of nuts)
CHECK LABELS: Manufacturers constantly change product recipes. Rechecking labels is very important to ensure the product is peanut free.

• Peanut allergies are usually not outgrown.
• Peanut oil is usually not a problem as long as it is free of peanut protein. Cold-pressed peanut oils are a notable exception.
• Check all candy labels, they will often list peanuts on the label if the product is made in the same facility as a peanut containing candy. For example: Plain M & M’s and Raisinettes both note that they may contain peanuts on the label, but peanuts are not in the ingredients list.
• Avoidance of tree nuts will decrease the risk of an accidental peanut ingestion. Furthermore, about 1/3 people with peanut allergy will develop a tree nut allergy. Avoid artificial nuts, which could contain peanuts.
• Ethnic restaurants often use peanuts in a variety of foods, which makes cross contamination possible, so these restaurants should be avoided. Egg rolls are occasionally sealed with peanut butter.

****Please check the POSTS below frequently for updated office information****

Skip to content