Avoid foods that contain any of these ingredients:
• Bread crumbs
• Bran
• Bulgur (cracked wheat)
• Cereal extract
• Cracker meal
• Couscous
• Enriched flour
• Farina
• Flour
• Gluten
• Graham flour
• High gluten flour
• High protein flour
• Malt
• Semolina
• Unbleached flour
• Wheat bran
• Wheat germ
• Wheat grain
• Wheat gluten
• Wheat starch
• White flour
• Whole wheat flour

The following ingredients MAY have wheat present:
• Gelatinized starch
• Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
• Modified food starch
• Natural flavoring
• Soy sauce
• Starch
• Vegetable gum
• Vegetable starch

• Food companies continually change product recipes so continue to read all labels.
• If you have a question on a specific food, call the manufacturer.
• SOME wheat allergic people are allergic to other grains.
• Hispanic and Asian cuisines use rice as a staple. Check cookbooks for wheat free recipes.
• Gluten-free also means wheat free.
• In addition to the Food Allergy Network, organizations for patients with Celiac Disease are a useful resource.

Other hints on what to avoid and wheat-free suggestions
ALWAYS read labels. ALWAYS ask about ingredients in restaurants, bakeries, etc. ALWAYS call the company if you have a question (they will be most accommodating if you tell them you have a wheat allergy). WHEN IN DOUBT: DO NOT EAT IT!

• Avoid all foods containing wheat or wheat products (see list above). Pay particular attention to breads, cereals, cookies, cakes, baked good mixes, and other baked products. Suggestions: Use only baked products that contain rye, oat, corn, barley, rice, or potato flour, but that are 100% wheat-free. You can use 1/2 cup rice flour and ½ cup oat flour as a substitute for 1 cup of wheat flour. Use corn tortillas. Any corn, oat, rice, or rye cereal without wheat is OK. Read all labels carefully.

• Most pasta is a wheat product and must be avoided. Suggestions: Spaghetti squash and rice noodles are great substitutes for regular pasta. Rice and potatoes are excellent sources of carbohydrates.

• Beer, gin, and some whiskeys, as well as some other alcoholic beverages may contain wheat and should be avoided. Suggestions: Most other beverages are acceptable, including milk, fruit juices, and carbonated beverages.

• Read labels on processed meats, cheeses, and soups carefully. Prepackaged vegetables in sauces often contain wheat as fillers. Suggestions: Do not use processed foods. Fresh, frozen and canned vegetables are your best choice. Dishes made from fresh, wheat-free ingredients are safe.

****Please check the POSTS below frequently for updated office information****

Skip to content